Why is it so hard to finish something?

Anneliese Fox
3 min readApr 20, 2022

Another attempt at breaking the cycle of not getting things done

Journal, closed, titled, ‘Project Planner’
Project Planner journal. Would not have purchased it, if it had been an aqua shade of blue. Photo by author.

I bought a lovely project notebook a couple of months ago. For the past six months or so, I’ve been thinking it would be a good idea to keep a notebook of art/craft projects. Some place to record the idea for a new project, identify what would be needed to do it, keep pictures of works in progress and finished goods, and notes about what was done. Seemed like a good idea.

So I started thinking about what that project notebook should look like. Should it be a binder with loose pages: easy to organize and reorganize, or more journal/bound book: harder to reorganize, but cooler to look at. And I thought about what the pages should look like, what their content should be…

And then I found that Martha Stewart had already invented the thing and it was on sale at Staples.

Now, I am not a huge fan of Martha Stewart in general. She does some nice stuff, don’t get me wrong, but her color choices are not often my color choices.

But that Project Journal was perfection. So I bought it. (I figured I could redecorate the cover to my taste later.)

And I haven’t opened it.

That’s not because I’ve run out of projects. I’ve lots of them.

--

--

Anneliese Fox

Writer of speculative fiction, programmer, artist in wood and clay, owner of Fox Computer Systems. My almost weekly blog follows what interests me at the moment