This Is Why I Love Tools So Much

Anneliese Fox
3 min readMay 25, 2022
double pointed knitting work in process on four needles, three wood, one aluminum
Knitting work in process. photo by author

For some reason, I decided to knit a tiny, little sweater for the roll of toilet paper that hangs out on the back of my toilet. Not apologizing for it. The pattern is adorable and the yarn is scrumptious. It may be silly, but I am going to love it.

So I got started. I have close to a bazillion knitting needles stashed all through the house. This particular pattern calls for size four, double pointed needles. And guess what? I actually had one set of six inch long, size four, double pointed needles. Four lovely little things in beautiful green wood. And they are lovely to work with.

Only one problem. I need either needles that are a little longer, or more needles because there are so many stitches that they like to fall off the ends of the needles not in use. If you are a knitter, you understand why this is not a good thing. The rest of you will just have to take my word for it, because this article is not about knitting.

After struggling with the first few rows, I knew I needed something else if I was going to finish this project, even as small as it is. So I handed one of the needles to my husband. My question to him was simple:

“Can you make one of these, or should I go out and buy another set?”

Now I’ve made my own crochet hooks when I didn’t have something large enough. Making your…

--

--

Anneliese Fox

Writer of speculative fiction, programmer, artist in wood and clay, owner of Fox Computer Systems. My almost weekly blog follows what interests me at the moment