Lucy in the sky

Anneliese Fox
2 min readJun 1, 2022

Sometimes you just gotta play

sheets of adhesive backed, plastic rhinestones in assorted colors
Plastic rhinestones…aren’t they pretty? photo by author

I bought a pack of adhesive backed rhinestones today. Why? I’ve no idea. Impulse, I guess. I don’t have an overwhelming desire to make everything sparkle. Once in a while, however, something overtakes my better judgement. I bought a $5 toy. I am making a play date.

Years ago, I got involved with Julia Cameron’s Morning Pages (see: https://juliacameronlive.com). I still do them. They have been a life savor. Morning pages have gotten me through good times and bad, kept me steady, and more than once enabled me to crawl out of deep depression. I can’t recommend the system enough.

That’s not to say that the system works for everyone. (Most things only really work for a small percentage of people — the trick is to find the right thing for you!) I got Cameron’s book, The Artist’s Way, from my mother. She’d bought the book, then decided that as a writer, perhaps I would do better with it. The system Cameron puts forth isn’t specifically for any kind of creative discipline. It’s more about the psychology of creativity. If you’re uncomfortable using pen and paper as a toolset, though, it might not be for you.

The core of the system is doing the morning pages: fill three sheets of paper with hand written mumbo jumbo first thing in the morning. If you are a writer, this isn’t writing time, although it will generate ideas…

--

--

Anneliese Fox

Writer of speculative fiction, programmer, artist in wood and clay, owner of Fox Computer Systems. My almost weekly blog follows what interests me at the moment