Getting Things Done

Anneliese Fox
4 min readFeb 16, 2022

It’s never easy.

Ferns. Something I’d like to take more pictures of. Photo by author.

I’ve been wandering around the house for the past twenty minutes or so taking care of mindless little tasks. I’m between finishing one complicated task for the day and going on to the next. And I really don’t feel like doing the next one.

I’ll never be the poster child for getting things done. Not in the positive sense, and unlikely in any other way as well. I do get some things off the proverbial to do list. Today, I got through my checkbook review in preparation for taxes despite the fact that the online banking site fought me every step of the way and my printer decided not to work for me. (Ah, technology. Don’t get me started.)

I have one standing Wednesday task I do in the name of getting things done. It’s to write a blog post. One of the categories I write in (today’s post, in fact) is: Getting Things Done.

So, when it comes to this subject, I am a work in progress to be sure. I started serious work on this about a year ago when I decided that I was not accomplishing enough in my day and it was time to change that. I started small, with a little notebook to list the things I wanted to accomplish. Over the year, my little free-form list evolved into a more structured approach that included a monthly look at what I wanted to do, weekly overviews and daily pages. As a person who has never been fond of written…

--

--

Anneliese Fox

Writer of speculative fiction, programmer, artist in wood and clay, owner of Fox Computer Systems. My almost weekly blog follows what interests me at the moment