Dragon Eggs for Easter

Anneliese Fox
3 min readApr 16, 2022

3D Printing is a fun way to make decorations

Three dragon-scaled surface eggs printed on a 3D printer
3D Printed Dragon Eggs photo by author

When I moved house a few years ago, I got rid of most of my holiday decorations. Not that I had too many. I’ve never spent that much time or attention on seasonal (or any other kind) of decoration.

The obvious reason of downsizing was one excuse. The fact that I was moving to a larger, newer house, another. Then there was the fact that I’d lived in the old house for nearly forty years. A lot of what I had was old and decrepit.

So I kept a very few things for which I had special memories and got rid of the rest. My intention was to start out fresh.

I like the idea of seasonal decorations. They add interest and, I think, help me connect to the here and now. I spend a lot of time in my head or on a computer. There’s not much room for what goes on outside in those spaces. I need prompts. Decorations can be great prompts.

I don’t much like to shop. And pandemics give me even more excuses to not leave my house. So the rate at which I accumulate decorations for minor holidays is pretty slow. All of my Easter decorations, for example, don’t fill a shoe box.

Every year, I try to add one item to my decorating stash. That’s about all the time and patience I have for the process. I wasn’t impressed with what was available for decorations at the…

--

--

Anneliese Fox

Writer of speculative fiction, programmer, artist in wood and clay, owner of Fox Computer Systems. My almost weekly blog follows what interests me at the moment